At the debut another novelty for Google Meet. This time the Chrome browser is directly involved: when the user activates the screen sharing automatic display of the notifications (those of chats, emails and third-party sites) is suspended until the end of the operation. The intention is to prevent other participants in the video call or meeting from inadvertently seeing confidential information.
Google Meet: a news for privacy
It should be noted that this has already happened for some time when in Meet the sharing of a specific tab opened in Chrome. Nothing revolutionary, but a device introduced with the aim of raising the bar as regards the protection of privacy.
For many of us there has been a radical change in the way we radical and, now more than ever, we are relying on using Google Meet and other screen sharing solutions. Hopefully, this will reduce distractions and prevent accidental viewing of sensitive or personal information while sharing your screen.
The user, if desired, still has the opportunity to intervene and ensure that notifications are shown even if the sharing: one click is enough.
According to what we read on the pages of the official blog, the rollout of the novelty has already kicked off, but it will take up to three days for it to complete and affect everyone, even non-Workspace personal accounts. From the tests carried out in the editorial office it is not yet available. However, there is a way to activate it immediately: you have to act on the flag “Mute notifications during screen share” typing by pasting “chrome: // flags / # mute-notifications-during-screen-share” (without quotes) in the address bar, selecting the “Enabled” value and then restarting the browser.
In doing so, when a new notification is received, a message appears saying “Details are hidden when sharing your screen”. A click on “Show” or “Show all” displays its contents (also for the other participants in the meeting).
Fonte: G Suite Updates Meet: notifications hidden by sharing the screen